Ah, the weekend. I really feel I earned this one. However, I will probably spend the weekend reading for school. Very sad. I wish I could read for pleasure. Or profit. I would read for profit. As long as it’s entertaining stuff. I will not read microwave manuals for profit. Unless you’re paying me a lot, and you don’t quiz me on the info.
So I watched Lost last night. I wasn’t a Lost fan in the beginning, when all my friends were nuts about it and having weird little existential discussions about Jack, Kate and Sawyer. At the end of my time in China, Fawn got me to start watching the first season of Lost. It was interesting, but I wasn’t hooked yet. I came back to the US and resumed watching the first season. It took a little longer for me to get hooked than it usually does with TV shows (I was a Grey’s fan in the first episode – also started watching it last year in China), but hooked I got. Like Lost was cocaine and I was Ike Turner, may he rest in peace.
Anyway, the episode last night was the first live one I’ve ever seen, and I Tivo’ed it so I could start watching it late and then skip through all the commercials. It really wasn’t as exciting as I thought it was going to be, but I guess I should have seen that coming. JJ Abrams (the creator) likes to reveal the answer to a mystery and then follow up with two more mysteries.
Speaking of Ike Turner, as I often do, I must fondly recall an incident at Memphis in May in 2005. Danielle and I decided to check out Ike Turner’s concert and found we were the youngest people in the small crowd. At some point during the set, Ike turned and looked at Danielle and I and said something about how good-looking the girls in Memphis were.
Danielle, you heart-breaker.
I griped about the lack of carpet in the office yesterday, but it doesn’t seem to be a concern to anyone else. I guess they all enjoy the sensation of broken glass being crammed into their heads via their ear canals.
Maybe I’m exaggerating.
 

Currently reading :
Before France and Germany: The Creation and Transformation of the Merovingian World
By Patrick J. Geary
Release date: 25 February, 1988
