So I was telling this story earlier today, and I thought to myself, "This is funny stuff. I should put it on my blog." Which proves that I think I’m quite hilarious.
I was talking to a friend of a friend – someone I didn’t know at all. In the course of the conversation, while we were trying to get to know each other, I asked him his last name. Then, in all seriousness, he said, "Before I tell you, I’d like to know why you want to know. Whenever people ask me that question, I’m always curious as to their motivations."
What?!?
Uh, I’m asking your last name, dude. I’m not asking if you’ve ever been convicted of arson.
I felt the only appropriate response was to say, "Well, I’d like to know your last name so that I can figure out your ethnic background and then I can judge you."
Instead of laughing at that, like any sane person, he proceeded to give an extensive report of his geneaology, going back several generations.
And somehow it’s my fault that I can’t make new friends.
