A shortage of sleep usually means one thing during my morning ablutions – until I’ve had coffee, I have to endure The Annoying Song Routine.
"What the flip is that?" you ask indignantly.
For whatever deep, psychologically painful reason, when I arise feeling particularly tired, I have one phrase from a song stuck in my head. While I clamber out of bed, turn off the blaring car horn that serves as my alarm clock, turn on the light and take a shower, one line from songs like YMCA and Let’s Get Physical will play over and over and over again inside my cranium.
This morning, it was Stand By Your Man, which halfway through the chorus turned into the theme song from Laverne and Shirley. Imagine that symphony of irritation on repeat.
Maybe it should just be called The 70’s Song Routine.


